A Mirror

The day before you
There was sun

But now it shines brighter

And warmer
The day before you

My breath came heavy

Laboured

But now my chest lay

Unburdened and opened
The day before you

I watched the ground

For missteps

But now you lift my chin

And I can see
The day before you

I wept alone

But now my tears

Have a reservoir

To be held
The day before you

My soul was whole

But now

It can see its reflection

And it sees you there

Offering me back

What I can offer you

A piece of life

Lived not alone


(Photo from neilvn.com)

Leave a Reply

