dawn to dusk

clock-in-sand-300x199


(photo from google images)


first I followed the sun
then found myself chasing it
watching it sink below my grasp
unable to stop a momentum
I so badly needed
to hold on to the warmth
the promise it carried
yet with each passing moment
I could feel the
chill of night set in behind me
nipping at my back
as I kept moving
still trying to hold on
with the twilight ahead
now chasing my own shadow
knowing it was further ahead than I was
understanding the grief of what it means
to watch life accept the fate of night
and how it still holds promise
for night always relinquishes to dawn
just as day surrenders to dusk
and the hour glass tips
yet again

©Entirety 2015

2 thoughts on “dawn to dusk

Leave a Reply

