Whittle Away #marchfalls

Each time you walked away

You took a part of my trust

And whittled it into bones

That could no longer stand

On their own

And I fought the need to crumble

Knowing eventually these bones

Would turn to dust on their own

And I’d be lying on the ground

Fighting this lie

That I still needed you

And that this pain of you 

Whittling away at my hope

Was my refiners fire

But it was all I knew

And now I’m barely standing

Taking in these breaths of ashes

©Entirety 2017


Photo found on Pinterest


2 thoughts on “Whittle Away #marchfalls

Leave a Reply

