A Dream #mayfalls

I had a dream

To attract a bird of prey

The predators

Rat

Snake

Calling them to play

So I slipped into

A nightingales song

Led them down a shadowed path

And watched the confusion

As they fought it out

Who would tear the flesh

From my very neck

Who would steal my very last breath

Bloodied I trailed off

Note by note

While the true nightingale

Began to sing

All alone

But intact

Beautifully

And for that my act was selfish

I only wanted her to play

My funeral song

Without the worry of being hurried along

©Entirety 2017

Photo by mmarsupilami on Flickr

Leave a Reply

